Exercise Journal: 30.04.2015

EXERCISE:
PTL Program Outline 30 Apr 2015:
Corrective Stretching:
– Hamstring/Low Back
– Hip Flexors
– Traps/Neck
– Calves
– Chest/Shldr
Dynamic Warm Up:
– Bend and Reach x 30 sec
– Lunge w/ Twist x 30 sec
– Side Step and Reach x 30 sec
– Mountain Climber x 30 sec
– Running in Place x 30 sec
– Jumping Jacks x 30 sec
– Flutter Kicks x 30 sec
– Hollow body Rocks x 30 sec
Shoulder Stability Drills:
– I’s/Y’s/T’s/L’s/W’s
Core: 60 sec
– Pillar
– Sit Up Progression
– Inch Worm
– Russian Twist
Cardio: Propioception/Agility Drills (25 yds)
– Lunge Star Gazers
– High Knees
– Carioca
– Broad Jumps
– Shuttle Sprint
Anaerobics-Cardio:
– 300 td Shuttle Run x 2 w/ 90 sec rest
Strength:
– Side Step and Reach
– Push Ups
– Burpees
– Squats
– Bicycle Crunch
Flush:
– .25 mi Jog
Target Stretching:
– Calves
-Quads
– Chest
– Hamstrings
– Piriformis

Tired from the sprints. Good class. Reinforced my knowledge that I don’t eat enough calories.

GMB Parallettes: Intermediate Phase 1 Day 1
8 – 12 reps, 3 -5s holds (3-5 reps), 3 – 5 sets, 60s rest
• Warm-Up Routine: Elbow Drives (behind the back), Rotator Cuff Hitchhikers, Elbow Circles, Wrist Circles, Cat Stretches
• Plank Push-Ups: 3×12
• Plank Jump to Dip: 3×8
• Battle Rams (from knees – v. 1 or 2): 3×12
• Tuck Hold: 3×5
• Mt. Climber Holds: 3×12
• Cool-Down Flow: Arm Lounge (bent arm, straight arm), Arm Thread, Wrist Lock, Floor Half Crucifix, Cobra

Soon I might be able to go to 4×9. But not right now. But let’s just make note that my Plank Jump to Dips are improving!! Tuck holds are always hard and I feel like them being so late into the workout makes me lazy with them. I don’t know why I chose this over yoga today… Cool down was great though! 🙂

Handstand Press Practice:
– Front dumbbell raise: 6×4 @30lb
– Freestanding Negative Handstand Straddle Presses: 25
– Ab Wheel: 5
– Just for fun- Stag handstands: 5-10?

Poop. There was a bent arm thrown in there. Way easier. Must not cheat. So much fun, I just kept going, but now I have an upside down headache. 😦 Oh well, worth it!

Straddle Practice:
– Pancake: 15 mins w/ stick
– Middle Split: 10 minutes video
– Pancake: 30 mins w/ stick
– Wall Straddle: 20 mins w/ ankle weights

Oh man, that felt so good. And changing the order like that really helped both my straddle and pancake. My straddle felt looser and wider, and my pancake felt awesome!! I threw in a few isometric stretches and that really helped!! I did it long enough that I actually got really comfortable with minimal pain and was able to relax. I listened to my favorite stretching song – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYIAfiVGluk – and it was amazing. I just feel so good overall. It brought me back to the days where I would stretch for hours to that song.

1 Comment

Filed under bodyweight, exercise, gymnastics, pole, pullups, pushups, running, workout, yoga

One response to “Exercise Journal: 30.04.2015

  1. Pingback: Exercise Progression | Exercise.Food.Poo.

Leave a Reply

