Exercise Journal: 28.03.2015

EXERCISE:
Ashtanga Yoga: 1hr10min
– Surya Namaskara A – Sun Salutation A
– Surya Namaskara B – Sun Salutation B
– Standing poses
– Primary Series (stopped at Bhuja Pidasana)
– Finishing Sequence

Handstand Press Practice:
– Lunge handstands for control: 2 x 5 per leg
– Handstand tuck jump ups: 20
– Front shoulder raises: 6 x 3-5 @ 25 lb
– Seated pike leg lifts: 0
– Seated straddle seated leg lifts: 0
– L-Sit on floor – Tucked: 0
– L-Sit on parallettes: 0
– Parallel bar tuck presses to standing: 5
– Parallel bar pike presses negatives: 5
– Elevated handstand press practice: 10

Straddle Practice:
– Middle Split:: 10 minutes video
– Wall Straddle: multiple sets of 30s

Did Ashtanga with friends today. It was good, but sweaty. No knee issues today at all. So that was good.

I skipped the L-Sit stuff mostly. My elevated handstand presses are getting a lot better and I’m a lot more confident. Week one isn’t even done yet! I have to remember that. 🙂 I can do this. I just need to figure out the proper technique. I’m going to add this: handstand jump and handstand press video.

I really like the middle split video I found. I’ll keep looking for others, but I feel like this one is pretty good and working.

3 Comments

Filed under bodyweight, exercise, gymnastics, pole, pullups, pushups, running, workout, yoga

3 responses to “Exercise Journal: 28.03.2015

  1. Pingback: Exercise Progression | Exercise.Food.Poo.

  2. Hi,
    Would you happen to have a link to a video on the Sun Salutations with the mantras? I’m supposed to b doing 4 sets of this each morning. And my knees are killing me doing it from memory and maybe not totally correctly. Thanks

Leave a Reply

