Exercise Journal: 25.03.2015

EXERCISE:
Handstand Press Practice:
– Lunge handstands for control: 2 x 5 per leg
– Handstand tuck jump ups: 20
– Front shoulder raises: 6 x 3-5 @ 25 lb
– Seated pike leg lifts: 2 x 15
– Seated straddle seated leg lifts: 2 x 15
– Parallel bar tuck presses to standing: 10
– Parallel bar pike presses negatives: 10
– L-Sit on parallettes: 1 x 20s
– L-Sit on floor – one foot supported: 1 x 30s
– L-Sit on floor – Tucked: 3 x 15s
– Elevated handstand press practice: 10

Straddle Practice:
– Wall Straddle: multiple sets of 30s

I can’t believe I just did the Tucked L-Sit on the floor. I’ve been thinking I couldn’t do that for the longest when doing Navasana. Talk about holding myself back. Thanks for doubting me, Pyo. Gonna murder your assumptions.

Anyway, that took a long time since it was the first time. About an hour. Would like to to be between 30-45 minutes next time. I’m pretty sure this is the first time that my hands hand been in front of my body for the seated leg lifts!

I’m so excited. I feel like I’ve uncovered latent potential. I just need to get my shoulders stronger and core tighter to be able to lift my feet high enough for the press. I love how this translates directly to both yoga and gymnastics.

Last night I talked to a coach who said flexibility is going to be hard for me because I’m strong, which is exactly what the exercise physiologist said. I gained 10 pounds of muscle back when I used to lft. Because there’s more muscle, it’s going to be hard. Oh yeah, speaking of exercise physiologist. I got my bodyfat read last week. Back down to 20%. I know I could lower it back down to 17 if I ate more… buuuut, I’m not going to. I might start buying snacks again. We’ll see.

I’ll try this next time.

PT:
– TBD

1 Comment

Filed under bodyweight, exercise, gymnastics, pole, pullups, pushups, running, workout, yoga

One response to “Exercise Journal: 25.03.2015

  1. Pingback: Exercise Progression | Exercise.Food.Poo.

Leave a Reply

